Purely Pagan, Wholly Heathen

Shamanism, Druidry and Sorcery are my three major interests in the Pagan and Heathen sphere for, what I am fairly certain is, the foreseeable future. The three of them have me under this kind of thrall that keeps me coming back to them again and again. In some respects the reasons why I am under this thrall with those three things and why I keep coming back to them are probably the same reasons why something like Wicca or Ceremonial Wizardry has never really grasped my interest in the same way. There is no denying that all of the things I’ve mentioned thus far and a great many things more are undeniably magical, powerfully spiritual and such however, there is something… entrancing about Shamanism, Druidry and Sorcery that other things don’t seem to have – for me at least.

Druidry would seem to be pushing forward as the most ‘religious’ of my little triad, by which I mean it would seem to be the practice that is coming to be both my religious practice as well as a magical one, with Shamanism being of a more… spiritualist/mystic and magical practice, while Sorcery is purely a magical practice. The three of them are opening a number of perspectives that I hadn’t really considered before, much like doing this blog has done. The subtleties in the differences between the three of them form both each other and from other Pagan and Heathen practices is nothing short of provocative.

Leave a Reply

