Something I Don’t Often Talk About

So I’ve talked a few times now about how my Irish heritage is something important to me across a number of areas; it is only a (relatively speaking) small part of my blood-line but it is still something that is quite important to me and I try to do my best to keep that in mind when I undertake various tasks – such as delving into my spirituality and religious expression. However there is another part of me that is just as important and just as definitely a part of me (being an Nth generation Australian there are lots of parts of me that just come under the group heading ‘Mongrel’ which is why certainty of knowledge is important to me when it comes to whats in my blood) as my Irish heritage – and that is my Indigenous Australian heritage (read: Aboriginal).

On my mother’s side (when it comes to Indigenous Australian blood the general rule is follow the matrilineal paths) I am part Gowa, a tribe that comes from the Lake Eyre part of the country. Unfortunately that just about taps out what I know about that part of my lineage however I don’t let that stop me from looking for more information. Or at least, trying to look for more. Its an unfortunate fact of reality but there are lots of historical circumstances that have contributed to such specific information as details on the Gowa being… either readily available or more likely, in existence. Its just one of those things.

That said though Aboriginal culture, specifically their spirituality is something that I find constantly fascinating. The richness, the depth, the sheer spiritual advancement that is demonstrated by them. Theirs was a world where the ‘real’ and the ‘magical’ were not separated but rather overlapped one another to create a reality that I yearn to experience and try to understand. In many ways, if not accurately described as such, their entire lives not just the occasional magical practice or person seem to have been lived in what I can only describe as a shamanic state. Following the song-lines through the land, caring for their homeland and venerating the spirits of a primordial Australia that is now long gone.

I can only keep strong faith and hope that one day those practices, that spiritual advancement and all that they had can be rediscovered.

Leave a Reply

