Catchup #21: Too Much Light pt.1

I’ve adressed the idea that light equals good and dark equals bad and my thoughts on it, so I’m not going to repeat them. This time. I’m also going to do my best to keep this as least-rant like as possible, because thats not what I am doing this for. With that out of the way…

Pretty much everyone and their pet and their pet’s pet has heard the phrase, or a variation thereof, ‘too much of a good thing is a bad thing’. The first time that I really ever heard it was in relation to Vitamin C tablets. My brother and I found them fairly irresistible and tended to munch on them with frightening regularity. I can’t really say why, though from what I remember the tablets tasted nice. Yeah, weird, but if we take my personal example and turn it into a metaphor and then apply the resulting metaphor to the popular practice of ‘Light’ practices in the Pagan and Heathen community we’ll be getting pretty close to my thoughts on the prevalence of Light in practices.

I wont list the various principles and qualities that are typically ascribed to Light, including the near automatic presumption that Light is good, because that would mean I would get nothing else done. More over they are things that I don’t think its unreasonable to assume most people are familiar with.

Because of the nature of the topic and it being hard to express, as well as quite involved, I’m going to try to use a metaphorical example to demonstrate how too much Light can be bad.

A Paladin in training is told to go to some caves and rescue a farmers daughter from a tribe of goblins. The Paladin goes to the caves and starts fighting their way through the goblins. Eventually the Paladin in training comes to a cavern and can see the farmer’s daughter. She is too far away to see what she is doing, but the Paladin is certain that it is her so the Paladin starts running towards her. As the Paladin gets closer they can see goblins running around the farmer’s daughter, playing with her and braiding her hair.

What does the Paladin do?

Leave a Reply

