Catchup: When Science and Religion Meet

“Scientists Have Found That memories Can Be Passed Down Through Generations In Our Genes.”

That was the title of an article I read the other day that came across my computer screen via a friend. It was a science based article one a site I think is meant to provide a middle ground between science and spirituality/metaphysics.

I’ll link the article below but the general gist is that there is now scientific evidence for genetic memory in humans and speculates that the potential of this genetic memory extends well beyond memories of events or smells etc.

While I don’t directly doubt the voracity of the scientific research I do think that there is an important lesson to be learned from the article. Science can just as often be worthy of scepticism and disapproving glances as religion is, people are just more prepared to believe that science is right. Which is by no means a reason to stop believing in either, just a reminder that both and neither can be correct just as often as only one or the other.

I will admit however, that I find the research to be very provocative. The possibility of being able to learn more about our past, particularly those things that have been lost in an archaeological sense, is especially provocative. Just imagining the things that could potentially be re-learned is enough to make me want to know more.

The article can be found here: http://www.spiritscienceandmetaphysics.com/scientists-have-found-that-memories-can-be-passed-down-through-generations-in-our-genes/

2 thoughts on “Catchup: When Science and Religion Meet

    1. I tried using the link myself and it seems to be working fine for me, however here is the link to the main website that article came from

      http://www.spiritscienceandmetaphysics.com/

      You ought to be able to just search the name of the article I mentioned by putting the name in the search box on the right side of the website.

      If that doesn’t work let me know and I’ll see if I can fix up the original link in the post.

Leave a Reply

