Catchup: Praxis: Magical Languages

Despite my best efforts to focus entirely on my CELTA course to the total exclusion of everything else (everyone I had encountered had been telling me that CELTA would be extremely intense and requiring all of my attention, and they were right) however despite my attempts to focus entirely on my CELTA course work I was unable to keep my mind from straying at least once. Happily the result of the this lapse in focus brought about a magnificent venn diagram of my CELTA training and my Pagan and Heathen halves.

Several times now I have touched upon the issue to ‘advanced’ Paganism and Heathenry, more specifically I have touched upon both what might classify as ‘advanced’ and some suggestions for how it might be achieved. Of particular regard is something I raised in the latter category. One of the things I postulated might start one on a course of ‘advanced’ Heathenry, at least using my own studies and practices as a context, was studying entirely through the use of Elder Furthark as a written and read form. In other words, using the Elder Futhark Runes as a lettering system with which to write texts etc for others to learn from, but also as a lettering system in which you write your own notes and such.

At the time the suggestion was genuine but offhand, lacking any real understanding of how complicated such a procedure could be. Naturally, I was at least partially aware that to do such a thing you would need to be able to ascribe each rune in the Elder Futhark to an equivalent letter or letters in the English alphabet. Having now completed my CELTA course, I’ve gained valuable insight into the matter particularly with regards to having a practically applicable method by which to apply the Elder Futhark to English.

Though not solely a quality of English it is most readily and extensively  seen in English, at least in my opinion, written and spoken forms of the language are not 100% congruent with one another. Though it is not immediately obvious, most languages are in fact phonetically pronounced (however much it might not seem like it) and phonetically written. Obviously this is a greatly simplified detail but otherwise is accurate. English is one language where the phonetics do not align with the written form, for example: knife. The alphabet used for English is used because of the manner in which we arrived at English, resulting in much of English not using phonemic construction. However while only those who study English as a language, and I dare say to a certain depth also, are likely to be aware of it there is in fact an English phonemic alphabet.

The cannier readers can likely see where I am going by this stage.

While neither Elder Futhark, English standard alphabet or phonemic alphabet have directly matching letters or phonemics, using the phonemic alphabet it is entirely possible to assign Elder Futhark Runes or combinations to the various phonemics of English and thus construct an alphabet that uses the Elder Futhark to express English accurately.

This is something that I’m quite married to the idea of and something that, while not right now, I will work on as a long term project in the future.

Licence: Please note that I do have a creative licence page (top far right) which, technically speaking, is supposed to protect my ideas like this one. Though it is only there to keep people honest, it is (to my understanding) there to say anything on my blog is mine/my idea etc… While I do acknowledge that its possible that someone else has had this idea before, I don’t yet know so for the time being it’s my idea.

A shade overprotective perhaps, but I am really quite keen to make something of this in the future.

Additional: In the process of writing this I lost the first go and thus I feel a much better written version, however this does still sufficiently cover all the pertinent points.

2 thoughts on “Catchup: Praxis: Magical Languages

  1. If you are going with this where my currently fatigued mind thinks you’re going, then it is not entirely a new concept. When I was young I started to write personal notes in English but using runes as I understood them to match with the English alphabet. It wasn’t long before I came up with my own alphabet that was similar to Futhark to write diary entries with. You are the first I’ve run across to go the same route, though there has to be more. I’m glad to see that you will be working to make this a bigger thing at some point in the future. I’ll be eagerly watching for your work!

Leave a Reply

