Divination [CR64]

I make no secret of my not practicing divination; its simply something that I don’t, personally, feel the a need to do. I spend a lot of my time planning for the future simply because of my situation and so I have no real desire t o know the future because I already spend a lot of time there. Ironic though it may be that knowing the future would help me plan for it. Either way, though it isn’t something I do myself it is undeniably part of using the runes. My personal lack of experience in divination prohibits me from commenting on their foibles or functionality in divination. However, there are only twenty-four Elder Futhark Runes, which in some respects limits the number of potential combinations when compared to something like a Tarot deck. There is also, though this would seem to be common across most divinatory forms that use a tool, the element of how well connected you are to the runes. Their qualities do have an experiential component to them; there is a living multiplicity to the runes that takes time and experience to understand.

 

What is perhaps unique about divination with runes is their Heathen focus, at least as far as the Elder Futhark Runes are concerned. Though many Pagans use the runes for divination, much of the meaning to be found in the runes stems from the Heathen world; this is harder to see with some runes than others but a good example is in the lack of any truly ‘water’ oriented rune. Instead there are two or three runes with watery aspects, none wholly water-based and two runes that are almost entirely devoted to the role of Ice and its part in the heathen world-view. For Heathens of the past snow and ice were major aspects of their lives, whereas for Pagans of the past water was equivalently important. Though scientifically the two are just different states of the same thing, for Pagans and Heathens of the past they were not just different but also separate.

Leave a Reply

